• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Standard scale

Page history last edited by Anneli Sarkanen 8 years, 8 months ago Saved with comment

In an Act, when it refers to the "standard scale" and a level of a fine, e.g.

"A person guilty of an offence under this section is liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding level 2 on the standard scale."

This refers to the Criminal Justice Act 1982, s.37(2), currently ranging from Level 1 fines of £200 to Level 5 fines of £5,000   (but may rise to Level 1 of £800 and Level 5 of £10,000 by the Legal Aid, Sentencing and Punishment of Offenders Act 2012 (Amendment of Standard Scale of Fines for Summary Offences) Order 2014 - still in draft - June 2014).


You may also be interested in seeing the Statutory Maximum.



Return to Legislation 

Return to How do I  

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.